Educator of the Year

This award is currently on hold

KCEE Teacher of the Year Awards


Winners will receive a $100 Amazon gift card and recognition!

The Kansas Council for Economic Education is excited to recognize two educators who actively engage their students in economics and personal finance. If you know a teacher that stands out in one of these areas, please nominate them to receive this recognition. There will be two awards winners in all as described below. The deadline to receive nominations is tentatively set for March 31st so be sure to mark your calendar to submit your nomination! Teachers nominated will be contacted to submit additional information. If your nominee is selected, both you and the nominee will be notified.

ECONOMIC EDUCATOR AWARDS: This award winner will be announced before the end of school and recognized at their school. They will also be considered for the Kansas Council for the Social Studies Educator of the Year. Winners will be recognized at the Kansas State Social Studies Conference at the awards reception. If the award winner is not a social studies teacher, we will do our best to acknowledge them at their specific teacher conference.

FINANCIAL LITERACY EDUCATOR AWARDS: The award winner will be announced before the end of school and recognized at their school. We will also do our best to recognize the teacher at their professional organization state conference.



Teachers may self-nominate or be nominated by a peer, school administrator, curriculum specialist, community or business representative or a director of a Center for Economic Education.

Please complete the form online to nominate an educator for this award. KCEE will contact the nominated teacher to provide additional information to complete the process.

Previous Winners

Economic Educator of the Year:

  • 2019 – Kasey Winegar, Fredonia High School – USD 484
  • 2017 – Matthew Wolfe, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School – USD 512
  • 2016 – Tony Budetti, Shawnee Mission South High School – USD 512
  • 2015 – Virginia Hammes, Turner High School – USD 202

Financial Literacy Educator of the Year:

  • 2017 – Sheryl Tillery, Complete High School Maize – USD 266